therewillbeblood2discc12208_fThis post originally appeared on my Bride’s Film page over on my other blog. I’m re-posting here with some added commentary (where appropriate) so that my film reviews are all in the same place.

Date watched: 12 July 2008

What IMDb says:

A story of family, religion, hatred, oil and madness, focusing on a turn-of-the-century prospector in the early days of the business.

What I said:

So this film has been living with me for a full week; bits of dialogue keep popping into my head, and some of the images are truly unforgettable. After mulling it over I think I can now try to articulate something of the impression it had on me.

It’s the story of Daniel Plainview, an oilman, and what happens to him when he begins to drill for oil on the Sunday ranch. An appallingly short synopsis of this story which covers so much about the human condition, and what happens to us when we allow our obsessions to run our lives, but I don’t know what more to say – you must see it if you haven’t already. I was hugely impressed by this film, which the Book God and I watched on DVD in total silence and perfect stillness.

What I loved about this movie = Daniel Day Lewis totally deserved his Oscar; Paul Dano was likewise excellent as Eli Sunday; the epic sweep of the story, which was wonderfully captured in the scale of the visuals.

What I didn’t like about this movie = was nothing to do with the film itself, I just wish I had had the opportunity to see this on the big screen where it must have been almost overwhelming.

This is one of the most grown-up (in a good way) films I have ever seen. And the ending was perfect.

Afterword: I haven’t watched this again, but every time I hear someone else talk about it or see clips many of the film’s images pop into my head vividly. Which is kind of all you can ask of a good film; that it lives with you in some way. Still a classic. Really should see it again.

