dark-knight-jokerThis post originally appeared on my Bride’s Film page over on my other blog. I’m re-posting here with some added commentary (where appropriate) so that my film reviews are all in the same place.

Date watched: 27 July 2008 on IMAX

What IMDb says:

When the menace known as the Joker wreaks havoc and chaos on the people of Gotham, the caped crusader must come to terms with one of the greatest psychological tests of his ability to fight injustice.

What I said:

So the film that I have been looking forward to the most this year has finally arrived, and I was lucky enough to see it this afternoon in London on the IMAX screen which made it seem even more epic, and made Gotham look particularly beautiful.

Not wanting to say too much about the plot in case people haven’t seen it yet, but this is largely about Batman vs The Joker with Harvey Dent thrown into the mix. Lots of stuff for fans of the comic books.

What I loved about this movie = Heath Ledger (of course), a wonderfully anarchic performance which brings the proper comic book Joker to the screen; Gary Oldman, underrated in his role as Gordon; Michael Caine (God bless you, sir!); the explosions (as always), especially the hospital scene; the cinematography – this film looks fantastic; Christian Bale and Aaron Eckhart are always worth watching

What I didn’t like about this movie = a minor quibble about the voice Christian Bale uses when in the mask, which I understand the reasoning behind but did occasionally find distracting.

I really loved this movie; the violence, although implied, was quite unpleasant and I did squirm a couple of times but it all felt right for the tone of the film. This is a very dark movie, but I know that I will watch it again with great admiration, so onto the DVD wish list it goes.

In terms of the comic book movies out this year, I put this above Iron Man, and we’ll just have to see what happens with Hellboy!

Afterword: 

Looking back at this Heath Ledger’s performance is still astonishing, and when taken as a whole with Batman Begins and The Dark Knight Rises it’s a great achievement and so influential on the superhero movies to follow.

