transformersThis post originally appeared on my Bride’s Film page over on my other blog. I’m re-posting here with some added commentary (where appropriate) so that my film reviews are all in the same place.

Date watched: 3 August 2008

What IMDb says:

An ancient struggle between two Cybertronian races, the heroic Autobots and the evil Decepticons, comes to Earth, with a clue to the ultimate power held by a teenager.

What I said:

I used to babysit in the 1980s for a couple whose two little boys absolutely loved Transformers, so having borrowed the DVD from a friend we sat down to watch the movie that we meant to see in the cinema but somehow missed. Storywise, Sam Witwicky finds himself the owner of a car that can transform into a giant robot, one of several looking for a thingy that needs to be found by the good guys or else. Or something like that, I may have left out some of the subtleties of the plot.

What I loved about this movie = the special effects are great, the transformations are all wonderful but especially when happening at speed or in mid-air; the director doesn’t hang about, there is a big action scene at the beginning where you get to see a Transformer, none of this keeping the monster til two-thirds of the way through; the heroine gets to be a mechanic; Shia LaBoeuf is actually quite engaging (I had been prepared not to like him).

What I didn’t like about this movie = I assume John Turturro’s character was meant to be funny but I just found him really annoying; it’s difficult to tell the good and bad robots apart (except for Bumblebee, Megatron and Optimus Prime they’re all a bit interchangeable, but hey I’m not 14 so what do I know?); it is a good 30 minutes too long.

So, general verdict is this was pretty good fun. I wouldn’t seek it out but if I came across it on TV I would probably watch it.

Afterword:  I think this is still OK, but have had no interest in seeing any of the sequels. In fact every time a new one is realised my interest goes down a notch.

And that completes the move of all my old reviews to the Screen God site.

