MV5BMTUyMTE0ODcxNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODE4NDQzNTE@._V1_SY317_CR2,0,214,317_AL_What’s it all about?

In a stark desert landscape where humanity is broken, two rebels just might be able to restore order: Max, a man of action and of few words, and Furiosa, a woman of action who is looking to make it back to her childhood homeland.

So says IMDb about Mad Max: Fury Road, and who am I to argue?

Why did I want to see it?

Well, I really wasn’t that bothered when I heard it was coming out, mildly intrigued of course by the casting of Tom Hardy who is always an interesting choice, but I was never that much of a fan of the originals so hadn’t planned to see this one. Until I saw the first proper trailer of course. And started to hear the word of mouth. Then it proved irresistible.

OK, so I’m easily led.

What did  think of it?

This was brilliant, I loved it. I tried not to pay attention to the almost uniformly positive reviews, and of course I kept well away from the MRA nonsense online (having a strong female character driving much of the plot doesn’t undermine the strength of the lead male character IMHO), so apart from knowing that this was basically a two-hour car chase I didn’t go in with any expectations, and I think I may have enjoyed it all the more for that reason. It seemed to me it had all the verve of the first Mad Max film (which came out when I was 17, if you can credit it!) with the production values of the third, all ramped up several hundred percentage points.

It is a such a distinctive film with its bizarre aesthetic, in some places looking incredibly beautiful. I thought Hardy was great as Max, wished we could have had a little bit more of Nicholas Hoult’s character, thought that there was a good selection of female characters none of whom were just there to look pretty, but the stand-out for me was Charlize Theron as Furiosa; she was just fantastic, and totally believable. Inasmuch as any of it was believable, but you know what I mean. Just totally thrilling to watch, and a great evening out 🙂

