20140724-141503-51303400A bit of a scrappy review because I almost forgot about writing this, even though it was a great movie. My memory is terrible, must get better at writing reviews closer to screenings 🙂

Or at least Take Better Notes.

But enough about that because you are asking:

What’s it all about?

Armed with a super-suit with the astonishing ability to shrink in scale but increase in strength, cat burglar Scott Lang must embrace his inner hero and help his mentor, Dr. Hank Pym, plan and pull off a heist that will save the world.

Why did I want to see it?

I knew very little about Ant-Man as a character in the comics so I was interested in this new (to me) addition to the ever-expanding MCU. And the trailer looked cool.

What did I think of it?

Loved it. Much more like Guardians of the Galaxy than the other MCU movies in tone, it worked for me as a newbie to the character though having followed up with a wee bit of research on the interwebs I can see that there were loads of in-jokes and references for the die-hard fans, something I really appreciate in a  film – it works for the general audience (well at least the general audience that likes comic book movies) but has lots of stuff to reward those in the know.

But thoughts:

  • I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Paul Rudd film but I thought he totally worked as Scott Lang – charming and roguish and funny
  • I also really loved Evangeline Lilley, in some respects she was the best thing in the film for me and I wished they’d used her a bit more
  • Michael Douglas – respect, loved the thing they did to de-age him in the prologue
  • the villain was a wee bit obviously villainous in a not-quite-cackling sort of way but hey, he was going insane because of Stuff so I’m prepared to let him off
  • Michael Pena was delightful and stole every scene he was in
  • Cameos – all cool and I’ll say no more than that because spoilers

I was very entertained, a great Sunday evening out, lots to talk about afterwards and glad I stayed for the mid- and end-credit scenes because oooh, that all looks intense. Will be interested to see how Ant-Man fits in with the Avengers.

