FINAL-launch-1-sheet-600x886What’s it all about?

The Fantastic Four are apparently

Four young outsiders [who] teleport to an alternate and dangerous universe which alters their physical form in shocking ways. The four must learn to harness their new abilities and work together to save Earth from a former friend turned enemy.

Oh c’mon IMDb, they’re not outsiders, they’re very much insiders it just happens to be mega-geeky technoworld that they are inside. But they have all the resources to build the teleporter thingy, which is no less than cool. Conceptually. Not my definition of someone on the outside.

Why did I want to see it?

Superheroes.

What did I think about it?

Oh dear. I was really disappointed, not to the level of hate there seems to be in certain parts of the interwebs, but I genuinely thought it was a missed opportunity. Although I saw some of the star ratings I have deliberately avoided detailed reviews because I wanted to make up my own mind (after all, I loved John Carter *of Mars* when almost everyone else didn’t) so thoughts expressed here are my own and if they do indeed repeat what others are saying then that kind of tells you something.

First the good stuff.

The first half of the film is pretty cool. I liked the way they set up Reed Richards as a boy, I liked his friendship with Ben Grimm (even though that means he isn’t a super-cool test pilot like he is in the comics). I liked the four main cast members, all very likeable. I liked that Victor von Doom still comes from Latveria. I liked the action on the planet they end up on, though clearly someone should have told them that if you see green pulsating stuff and feel the need to point out that it’s almost alive it’s probably not a good idea to stick your hand in it (Victor, I am of course looking at you).

And then they come back.

I didn’t buy how Sue Storm gets her powers, though I liked the fact that she was so smart and no-one felt the need to comment on it. I didn’t like What Reed Does, especially as not very much later everyone seems willing to totally forget it. I didn’t like the stock minor villain. They didn’t make enough use of Doctor Doom. It was dark and relentless and without humour (the Book God’s one word review was “bleak”) and although I can see what they were trying to achieve I just don’t think of the Fantastic Four as being that dark, and the execution of the film did nothing to convince me that I was wrong.

And “There is no Victor. Only Doom” could have been a killer line if delivered with even a touch of knowingness but it just came out as flat.

And the end is so cheesy.

And it’s all such a shame; for whatever reason a good director (I loved Josh Trank’s Chronicle), a strong and engaging young cast and high production values just didn’t work at all. And the relatively short running time just made it look like they had hurried to finish it or cut it from a much longer version.

If you want to see a different perspective then have a look at this article on Live for Films which explains why the Fantastic Four haters are wrong.

I’m not a hater. Just sad about what might have been.

