MV5BOTQyODc5MTAwM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjMwMjA1MjE@._V1_SX214_AL_What’s it all about?

A soldier introduces himself to the Peterson family, claiming to be a friend of their son who died in action. After the young man is welcomed into their home, a series of accidental deaths seem to be connected to his presence.

I beg to differ. Anyone who thinks those deaths were accidental simply wasn’t paying attention. The other characters may not have twigged who the killer was but being shot int he head from a distance in a wide-open space while you are running is NOT an accident.

That may be a spoiler. Sorry (not sorry).

Why did I want to watch it?

I must have read something somewhere that suggested this might be of interest. I certainly had nothing to do with wanting to catch up what Cousin Matthew (I think) did after he died on Downton Abbey (which I have never watched so this may all be wrong. Also may be a spoiler, again sorry).

What did I think of it?

I really enjoyed The Guest. It doesn’t take long to twig that “David” is not what he appears, and the way he insinuates himself into a grieving family is really quite implausible but whoever said this sort of thing had to be realistic?

His gleeful use of violence to help out the younger brother who is plagued by bullies was much more enjoyable than it probably should have been (seriously fit soldier beating up young teenagers not a suitable lesson for us all) and the ridiculous back story, enhanced by the presence of the wonderful Lance Reddick (I adored him on Fringe) is just so much nonsense, but I liked the way they didn’t try and explain too much and just went with it all.

Dan Stevens is great in the lead role, and when it veers into horror-lite territory at the end, and anyone with half a brain can see where it’s going to end, it doesn’t really matter because it’s all such a hoot. I will definitely watch this one again 🙂

