Catching FireWhat’s it all about IMDb?

Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark become targets of the Capitol after their victory in the 74th Hunger Games sparks a rebellion in the Districts of Panem.

Which doesn’t make a whole lot of sense if you haven’t seen The Hunger Games, but that raises the question of why you would watch Catching Fire if you hadn’t seen the previous film. So says the woman who saw Return of the Jedi before The Empire Strikes Back and was totally confused about the whole Luke/Vader/Dad thing.

Don’t judge me.

Why did I want to see this?

Because I wanted to know what happened after THG and had tried and failed to read the book (mostly due to the law of diminishing returns).

What did I think of it?

Even though it’s very much more of the same I really quite enjoyed it, though it’s really pretty much a bridge between the original and the final two-parter. I have trouble sometimes with Katniss’s emotional approach to the world but wonder if that’s because as a character she’s meant to be much younger than Jennifer Lawrence (who plays her, duh, as I’m sure you know) and so her apparent naiveté jars a bit despite her best efforts.

The romance stuff is also mildly annoying but that’s because I am Team Peeta and it just seems obvious to me who she should end up with. But the set pieces were really well done and the new characters were nicely introduced so it was a fun watch (if seeing people try to hunt and kill each other can be said to be fun, but you know what I mean).

The best bits were actually the supporting characters: Donald Sutherland (obvs), Philip Seymour Hoffman (ditto) and Stanley Tucci (double ditto) being the standouts for me. But everyone deserves an award for acting seriously in some of the most ridiculous costumes known to man (looking specifically at poor Elizabeth Banks here).

I will definitely be watching Mockingjay to see how this all pans out.

