MV5BNTc4MTc3NTQ5OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTg0NjI4NA@@._V1_SY317_CR12,0,214,317_AL_I am exhausted from just typing out the title; punctuation can be such a challenge, don’t you think? But you can’t say you don’t know that this isn’t one of the original trilogy given all the information provided.

Anyway, this review isn’t going to follow my normal format because this movie is 10 years old, everyone and their cat who wants to see it has seen it and no doubt formed an opinion about it, and let’s face it, with an explanation like this from IMDb:

As the Clone Wars near an end, the Sith Lord Darth Sidious steps out of the shadows, at which time Anakin succumbs to his emotions, becoming Darth Vader and putting his relationships with Obi-Wan and Padme at risk.

it’s difficult to pretend that you don’t know what’s going to happen.

In all the excitement leading up to the new movie which is only a couple of months away (and I’m honest enough to admit that I am super excited to see it asap on release) the Book God and I got to talking about the previous Star Wars movies, and I mentioned that the one I had seen the fewest number of times was Revenge of the Sith. So, we decided to dig out the DVD and give it another spin, and as the last time I saw it was pre-blog it felt right to stick my thoughts down.

I think it’s worth saying that I don’t have a downer on the prequels. Yes, there’s lots wrong and in particular Anakin was miscast, but because I was 16 when I saw the original Star Wars film when it was first released in the UK I just don’t have the same level of emotional attachment to it as some of my friends who saw it as little kids. Just to be clear, though, this tolerance does not extend to Jar Jar Binks.

Main thoughts from this re-watch of the final film until the next one:

  • what on earth did Padme ever see in Anakin? He is played like a sulky teenager throughout and i just wanted to slap him
  • I don’t remember it being quite so bitty – it leaps backwards and forwards between the different story lines but the scenes are all pretty short so there isn’t really any flow
  • the Jedi are pretty arrogant, but that’s no excuse Anakin
  • I don’t remember ever noticing before just how quickly Anakin flipped to the Dark Side when Palpatine/Sidious made him the big offer
  • continuity is just all over the place; setting aside the whole “do you remember your mother” thing from RotJ, everyone’s ages seem really off. I mean, Luke’s just been born and he’s a youngish teenager in SW, and it may have been a harsh existence on Tatooine but would Ewan really have aged into Sir Alec in that space of time?
  • the least said about the throw away line about the return of Qui Gon Jinn the better.

However, I totally love Palpatine and could watch him for ages. He’s cool in a totally over the top downright evil way.

It was great fun watching this but I am so, so looking forward to see what JJ Abrams does with the sequels.

