MV5BMTc5MTUzOTAxMl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODQzMjg3NA@@._V1_SX214_AL_What’s it all about?

A documentary on Brazilian Formula One racing driver Ayrton Senna, who won the F1 world championship three times before his death at age 34.

Why did I want to watch it?

Back in the day I was an avid watched of Formula 1 motor racing, especially while doing my ironing on a Sunday afternoon. I’m pretty sure I was watching the race in which Senna was killed. I also enjoy a really good documentary and had had this recommended by friends, including some who don’t actually follow F1.

What did I think of it?

Senna was not a driver I was hugely fond of, being more of an Alain Prost fan which made this film particularly interesting, because as well as the entirety of Senna’s career there was a focus on the Prost/Senna rivalry which was very bitter at times. I’m always astonished at the amount of money involved in F1 racing though I suppose I shouldn’t be given the R&D required to put a winning car on the track.

I found this absolutely fascinating. I think the human story, Senna’s life away from as well as on the circuit, was something that anyone could enjoy, though knowing a little bit about the system and characters involved in F1 certainly enhanced the experience.

Beautifully made, very moving and it’s led me to want to see Asif Kapadi’s other work. Recommended.

