So, dipping my toe back into the blogging waters after an unplanned hiatus of what has turned out to be almost three months, I thought carefully about how I wanted to capture what I’d seen since Deadpool back in February. I decided that I’d do a round-up with mini-reviews to make sure I caught everything, and my first proper full-length review will be Captain America: Civil War, which seems fitting given the chap at the top of my page.

So here goes!

Hail CaesarHail Caesar!

A Hollywood fixer in the 1950s works to keep the studio’s stars in line.

Wanted to see this because (a) Coen Brothers (b) Clooney looking dim (3) Tilda Swinton playing twins. I really enjoyed it; yes it’s kind of patchworky (if that’s a word) but I thought that it had such affection for the old studios and it was very funny.

Favourite thing: a tie between Ansel Elgort (just lovely) and everything that Channing Tatum is.

 

MV5BMTUyNzgxNjg2M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTY1NDI1NjE@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_Kung Fu Panda 3

Continuing his “legendary adventures of awesomeness”, Po must face two hugely epic, but different threats: one supernatural and the other a little closer to his home.

Wanted to see this because, well, awesomeness and attractiveness. Great fun, beautifully animated, much Pandatude and the Voice of Cranston.

Favourite thing: Nothing is better than Angelina Jolie as a tiger.

 

10-cloverfield-lane10 Cloverfield Lane

After getting in a car accident, a woman is held in a shelter with two men, who claim the outside world is affected by a widespread chemical attack.

Wanted to see this because it had the word Cloverfield in the title, and I was intrigued as to how (or even if) it would fit with the original movie. It’s a film where it’s best to know as little as possible before you see it, which I managed to do more or less. Performances are uniformly excellent; John Goodman is so menacing, and the tension was (cliche alert) palpable. I loved it and would happily watch again; the Book God was a bit more ambivalent.

Favourite thing: John Gallagher Jr rocking the shaggy beard/baseball cap look.

 

MV5BOTMyMjEyNzIzMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzIyNjU0NzE@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_Zootropolis (or Zootopia. Or Whatever)

In a city of anthropomorphic animals, a rookie bunny cop and a cynical con artist fox must work together to uncover a conspiracy.

I wasn’t sure about this one but the Book God was very keen to see it and I’m so glad that I went along because this is an adorable film with properly thought through and consistent world-building, cool characters and lots of clever shout-outs to other movies. There is of course a moral but it’s not over-laboured. Great villain.

Favourite thing: a tie between Chief Bogo, Clawhauser and the lemmings eating popsicles. Think Clawhauser edges it though; love the idea of a plump cheetah.

 

MV5BMTUwNDcyNzkyOV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzI1NzkyNzE@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_Midnight Special

A father and son go on the run, pursued by the government and a cult drawn to the child’s special powers.

Wanted to see this because I knew nothing about it other than some very positive comments from people on Twitter whose opinion I trust. Like Cloverfield Lane this is a film best seen without an inkling of what it’s about. The relationships are convincing, the story is compelling and I could happily have sat through the whole thing again as soon as it was finished. Fascinating and lovely film.

Favourite thing: Michael Shannon’s face. Everything about Adam Driver.

So that’s a very quick catch-up. Under normal circumstances each of these films would have deserved a long and thoughtful review post but sometimes that just isn’t possible. So pleased to have had a run of such good movies.

 

 

 

