a75c6f7247df802186722b0415c8c9b7I’m catching up on reviews from films seen over the past couple of months, so these may be a little shorter than normal. When I get back into the habit of reviewing within a couple of days of watching then normal service will be resumed. Until now it’s basically what I can remember! 

Watched: 24 May 2016

What’s it all about?

With the emergence of the world’s first mutant, Apocalypse, the X-Men must unite to defeat his extinction level plan.

Why did I want to see it?

It’s the X-Men and I’ve seen the previous two in this re-booted franchise. I have never been able to follow the ins and outs of the comic books but the films are more easily digestible. Plus, Oscar Isaac. ‘Nuff said (autocorrect tried to change this to ‘Buff said which is not at all wrong!)

What did I think of it?

I actually quite enjoyed it though I think Oscar was kind of wasted as Apocalypse (but maybe that’s just because we couldn’t see his face). The younger members of the X-Men were pretty though having watched this in the middle of Season 6 of Game of Thrones I couldn’t see Jean Grey for Sansa, which is a shame because I really like Sophie Turner. The best things in the movie were Quicksilver and the cameo by That Guy, and Olivia Munn’s costume as Psylocke was not as bad as I had anticipated it would be. Throw in ancient Egyptian nonsense, a level of destruction too enormous to contemplate, a bald McAvoy and an emoting Fassbender and you have a pretty good night out.

