dbacc1aedc6c6a0136f203876e51d9e9I’m catching up on reviews from films seen over the past couple of months, so these may be a little shorter than normal. When I get back into the habit of reviewing within a couple of days of watching then normal service will be resumed. Until now it’s basically what I can remember! 

Watched: 26 May 2016 (DVD at home)

What’s it all about?

Katniss Everdeen is in District 13 after she shatters the games forever. Under the leadership of President Coin and the advice of her trusted friends, Katniss spreads her wings as she fights to save Peeta and a nation moved by her courage.

Why did I want to see it?

I’d watched the first two films having failed to get further than the original book in the trilogy, and just wanted to see how it would turn out.

What did I think of it?

I quite enjoyed this; it was well done though very clearly a bridging film into Part 2 where all will be resolved (I assume) so it did suffer from that a tiny wee bit. Something didn’t quite gel for me though; I can’t decide whether it was Julianne Moore’s hair, Donald Sutherland’s moustache-twirling villain or Stanley Tucci’s teeth. If I’m honest I think it’s actually Jennifer Lawrence herself. Don’t get me wrong, I think that she is a really good actress, but I think she’s just too old for the part. Most of the reactions she had seemed more fitting to a much younger girl. But like I said, it was enjoyable, mostly due to the presence of Elizabeth Banks and Woody Harrelson, and of course the still much-missed Philip Seymour Hoffman. And I will get around to watching the final part if only to see whether the (slightly) tedious love triangle is resolved. Personally I hop she rejects both Peeta and Gale and runs off with Natalie Dormer’s character, but that’s just me.

 

