MV5BMTk0MjgxOTQ5MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODA3NTUwNjE@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_I’m (still catching up on reviews of films seen over the past couple of months, so these may be a little shorter than normal, basically just being based on what I can remember.

Watched: 12 June 2016

What’s it all about?

When corrupt Roman leader Tiberius arrives with a giant army to claim the Silk Road, Huo An teams up his army with an elite Legion of defected Roman soldiers led by General Lucius to protect his country and his new friends.

Why did I want to see it?

Well, that’s a good question. I watched it because I had bought it as a birthday present for my husband who loves this sort of thing, and it was his choice for a Sunday night movie.

What did I think of it?

This is slightly potty (but not the maddest film I’ve seen recently; that delight is yet to come!) and not entirely because of the Chinese narrative structure which is pretty different from what we are used to here, being not entirely chronological and going off at tangents occasionally (mostly to allow the star to do the thing he is best known for). So we have Jackie Chan as our hero, doing his very best Chan-ing. We have Adrien Brody chewing the scenery as Chief Evil Roman (and being very entertaining while doing it). We have John Cusack as the Good Roman, looking completely dazed throughout; I couldn’t decide whether he had been drinking or just couldn’t quite believe he had got mixed up in this. And there is a really irritating child. I think I understood what was going on but don’t ask me to explain it any further.

Having said all that it was actually very entertaining, but distinctly odd.

