MV5BMjM1MDc2OTQ3NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzQ0NjQ1NjE@._V1_SY1000_SX675_AL_Still catching up; nearly there!

Watched: 18 June 2016

What’s it all about?

In 1947, Dalton Trumbo was Hollywood’s top screenwriter, until he and other artists were jailed and blacklisted for their political beliefs.

Why did I want to see it?

One of those ones we managed to miss at the cinema, though to be fair it mostly came on my radar as a result of Bryan Cranston’s Best Actor nomination. It popped up on one of the movie channels and in the spirit of taking a breather from blockbusters we decided to watch.

What did I think of it?

I enjoyed this, but I found it a strangely old-fashioned film in both tone and structure, with the sort of montages I used to see in the biopics I grew up watching. But given the subject matter and setting that isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I know a reasonable amount about this period in US history so understood a lot of the back story which was not spelled out in huge detail. The thing that makes this film what it is though is the acting. The performances were genuinely strong, with Cranston (of course) and Helen Mirren the real standouts, though kudos must be given to Dean O’Gorman for capturing Kirk Douglas.

So worth watching but if I had to choose a film about this period I would probably go for Goodnight and Good Luck.

