IMG_0437What’s it all about?

Following a ghost invasion of Manhattan, paranormal enthusiasts Erin Gilbert and Abby Yates, nuclear engineer Jillian Holtzmann, and subway worker Patty Tolan band together to stop the otherworldly threat.

Why did I want to see it?

I wouldn’t have missed this under any circumstances, but I was determined to shoe this movie some love after the drubbing it was getting online before anyone had even seen it. I was excited to see a sci-fi/fantasy film where all of the main characters were women. It brought out my 1970s feminist side. Yes, I am that old.

What did I think about it?

I genuinely liked this, it was huge fun. Yes, it was slight in some respects, and yes, the structure was a bit wobbly but the cast was uniformly excellent and I just loved seeing four women getting on with each other (mostly, and let’s face it, that’s what real life is like, nobody gets on with each other all of the time), making their own decisions and saving the world without a romantic lead in sight.

I may have fallen in love with Kate McKinnon. Melissa McCarthy & Kristen Wiig were relatively known quantities and McCarthy in particular was just lovely. And I thought that Leslie Jones was great, and had a lot of the best lines. I was already in love with Hemsworth Major but it was cool to see him make fun of himself, and he looked like he was really enjoying it. The use of cameos was nicely judged. I nearly missed the post-credit sequence, but a Facebook message from a friend (I was outside of the screening at the time before I’m accused of breaking the Wittertainment Code of Conduct) had me diving back in for the nice reveal.

And most importantly of all, I laughed throughout the whole film. On my to buy list. I would happily watch this one and over again.

