MV5BODkyNDQzMzUzOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODYyMDEyOA@@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_What’s it all about?

In a violent, futuristic city where the police have the authority to act as judge, jury and executioner, a cop teams with a trainee to take down a gang that deals the reality-altering drug, SLO-MO.

Why did I want to watch it?

Karl Urban. Wiping out the memory of the Stallone travesty. had heard good things about it. Needed something to watch on a Friday night.

What did I think of it?

I liked it. It was brilliantly violent. Silvery Dude suggested that was enough of a review, and I was tempted but…… that didn’t seem fair.

So, context – my kid brother used to read 2000 AD so I knew a bit about Dredd but have never really got into the comics myself. However, I think I know enough to realise that this was a pretty good adaptation; Mega City One was suitably cruddy and seedy and requiring of the type of justice meted out by Dredd and his colleagues.

It’s a classic cop buddy movie  – Dredd is given rookie Anderson to take out on assessment; she’s not done that well at the academy but she’s psychic so extremely useful. They head off to deal with three murders and walk right into (or actually provoke) retaliation from MaMa, nasty female drug dealer and all-round badass. Things do not end well.

Urban is brilliantly grim and the helmet stays on, so 1 million points to him. Olivia Thirlby as Anderson is superb – at one point I thought they were going to do the classic female gets kidnapped so hero has a reason to do his thing, but it’s so not like that (thankfully) – and Lena Headey plays MaMa in a style that makes Cersei look like a pussy cat.

Bloody and violent, but imaginatively so; like I said, like it.

